[01/13] mm: assign id to every memcg-aware shrinker

Submitted by Kirill Tkhai on Aug. 28, 2018, 11:31 a.m.

Details

Message ID 153545588549.14565.13407936414870669270.stgit@localhost.localdomain
State New
Series "Port "Improve shrink_slab() scalability" patchset"
Headers show

Commit Message

Kirill Tkhai Aug. 28, 2018, 11:31 a.m.
ms commit b4c2b231c3ba

Introduce shrinker::id number, which is used to enumerate memcg-aware
shrinkers.  The number start from 0, and the code tries to maintain it
as small as possible.

This will be used to represent a memcg-aware shrinkers in memcg
shrinkers map.

Since all memcg-aware shrinkers are based on list_lru, which is
per-memcg in case of !CONFIG_MEMCG_KMEM only, the new functionality will
be under this config option.

[ktkhai@virtuozzo.com: v9]
 Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/153112546435.4097.10607140323811756557.stgit@localhost.localdomain
 Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/153063054586.1818.6041047871606697364.stgit@localhost.localdomain
Signed-off-by: Kirill Tkhai <ktkhai@virtuozzo.com>
Acked-by: Vladimir Davydov <vdavydov.dev@gmail.com>
Tested-by: Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>
Cc: "Huang, Ying" <ying.huang@intel.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Josef Bacik <jbacik@fb.com>
Cc: Li RongQing <lirongqing@baidu.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Matthias Kaehlcke <mka@chromium.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>
Cc: Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com>
Cc: Sahitya Tummala <stummala@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
Cc: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Kirill Tkhai <ktkhai@virtuozzo.com>
---
 include/linux/shrinker.h |    5 +++-
 mm/vmscan.c              |   60 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 2 files changed, 64 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

Patch hide | download patch | download mbox

diff --git a/include/linux/shrinker.h b/include/linux/shrinker.h
index 5e706a524592..a8bbeaa3c66e 100644
--- a/include/linux/shrinker.h
+++ b/include/linux/shrinker.h
@@ -53,7 +53,10 @@  struct shrinker {
 				       struct shrink_control *sc);
 	unsigned long (*scan_objects)(struct shrinker *,
 				      struct shrink_control *sc);
-
+#ifdef CONFIG_MEMCG_KMEM
+	/* ID in shrinker_idr */
+	int id;
+#endif
 	int seeks;	/* seeks to recreate an obj */
 	long batch;	/* reclaim batch size, 0 = default */
 	unsigned long flags;
diff --git a/mm/vmscan.c b/mm/vmscan.c
index aefa4bc33062..418154200a76 100644
--- a/mm/vmscan.c
+++ b/mm/vmscan.c
@@ -157,6 +157,49 @@  unsigned long vm_total_pages;	/* The total number of pages which the VM controls
 static LIST_HEAD(shrinker_list);
 static DECLARE_RWSEM(shrinker_rwsem);
 
+#ifdef CONFIG_MEMCG_KMEM
+static DEFINE_IDR(shrinker_idr);
+static int shrinker_nr_max;
+
+static int register_memcg_shrinker(struct shrinker *shrinker)
+{
+	int id, ret = -ENOMEM;
+
+	down_write(&shrinker_rwsem);
+	/* This may call shrinker, so it must use down_read_trylock() */
+	id = idr_alloc(&shrinker_idr, shrinker, 0, 0, GFP_KERNEL);
+	if (id < 0)
+		goto unlock;
+
+	if (id >= shrinker_nr_max)
+		shrinker_nr_max = id + 1;
+	shrinker->id = id;
+	ret = 0;
+unlock:
+	up_write(&shrinker_rwsem);
+	return ret;
+}
+
+static void unregister_memcg_shrinker(struct shrinker *shrinker)
+{
+	int id = shrinker->id;
+
+	BUG_ON(id < 0);
+
+	down_write(&shrinker_rwsem);
+	idr_remove(&shrinker_idr, id);
+	up_write(&shrinker_rwsem);
+}
+#else /* CONFIG_MEMCG_KMEM */
+static int register_memcg_shrinker(struct shrinker *shrinker)
+{
+	return 0;
+}
+static void unregister_memcg_shrinker(struct shrinker *shrinker)
+{
+}
+#endif /* CONFIG_MEMCG_KMEM */
+
 #ifdef CONFIG_MEMCG
 static bool global_reclaim(struct scan_control *sc)
 {
@@ -249,10 +292,20 @@  int register_shrinker(struct shrinker *shrinker)
 	if (!shrinker->nr_deferred)
 		return -ENOMEM;
 
+	if (shrinker->flags & SHRINKER_MEMCG_AWARE) {
+		if (register_memcg_shrinker(shrinker))
+			goto free_deferred;
+	}
+
 	down_write(&shrinker_rwsem);
 	list_add_tail(&shrinker->list, &shrinker_list);
 	up_write(&shrinker_rwsem);
 	return 0;
+
+free_deferred:
+	kfree(shrinker->nr_deferred);
+	shrinker->nr_deferred = NULL;
+	return -ENOMEM;
 }
 EXPORT_SYMBOL(register_shrinker);
 
@@ -261,10 +314,17 @@  EXPORT_SYMBOL(register_shrinker);
  */
 void unregister_shrinker(struct shrinker *shrinker)
 {
+	if (!shrinker->nr_deferred)
+		return;
+
+	if (shrinker->flags & SHRINKER_MEMCG_AWARE)
+		unregister_memcg_shrinker(shrinker);
+
 	down_write(&shrinker_rwsem);
 	list_del(&shrinker->list);
 	up_write(&shrinker_rwsem);
 	kfree(shrinker->nr_deferred);
+	shrinker->nr_deferred = NULL;
 }
 EXPORT_SYMBOL(unregister_shrinker);