[vz8,13/42] mm: return faster for non-fatal signals in user mode faults

Submitted by Andrey Ryabinin on April 16, 2020, 10:35 a.m.

Details

Message ID 20200416103620.29930-13-aryabinin@virtuozzo.com
State New
Series "Series without cover letter"
Headers show

Commit Message

Andrey Ryabinin April 16, 2020, 10:35 a.m.
From: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>

The idea comes from the upstream discussion between Linus and Andrea:

  https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20171102193644.GB22686@redhat.com/

A summary to the issue: there was a special path in handle_userfault() in
the past that we'll return a VM_FAULT_NOPAGE when we detected non-fatal
signals when waiting for userfault handling.  We did that by reacquiring
the mmap_sem before returning.  However that brings a risk in that the
vmas might have changed when we retake the mmap_sem and even we could be
holding an invalid vma structure.

This patch is a preparation of removing that special path by allowing the
page fault to return even faster if we were interrupted by a non-fatal
signal during a user-mode page fault handling routine.

Suggested-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Suggested-by: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Tested-by: Brian Geffon <bgeffon@google.com>
Cc: Bobby Powers <bobbypowers@gmail.com>
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: Denis Plotnikov <dplotnikov@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: "Dr . David Alan Gilbert" <dgilbert@redhat.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>
Cc: Martin Cracauer <cracauer@cons.org>
Cc: Marty McFadden <mcfadden8@llnl.gov>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Maya Gokhale <gokhale2@llnl.gov>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@openvz.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200220160230.9598-1-peterx@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

https://jira.sw.ru/browse/PSBM-102938
(cherry picked from commit 8b9a65fd282c1d2e5b8ba8d8afaf652cde27b5e7)
Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
---
 include/linux/sched/signal.h | 3 ++-
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

Patch hide | download patch | download mbox

diff --git a/include/linux/sched/signal.h b/include/linux/sched/signal.h
index e00c838ef52a..8bf8bd259a61 100644
--- a/include/linux/sched/signal.h
+++ b/include/linux/sched/signal.h
@@ -382,7 +382,8 @@  static inline bool fault_signal_pending(vm_fault_t fault_flags,
 					struct pt_regs *regs)
 {
 	return unlikely((fault_flags & VM_FAULT_RETRY) &&
-			fatal_signal_pending(current));
+			(fatal_signal_pending(current) ||
+			 (user_mode(regs) && signal_pending(current))));
 }
 
 /*