[vz8,09/42] x86/mm: use helper fault_signal_pending()

Submitted by Andrey Ryabinin on April 16, 2020, 10:35 a.m.

Details

Message ID 20200416103620.29930-9-aryabinin@virtuozzo.com
State New
Series "Series without cover letter"
Headers show

Commit Message

Andrey Ryabinin April 16, 2020, 10:35 a.m.
From: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>

Let's move the fatal signal check even earlier so that we can directly use
the new fault_signal_pending() in x86 mm code.

Signed-off-by: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Tested-by: Brian Geffon <bgeffon@google.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Bobby Powers <bobbypowers@gmail.com>
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: Denis Plotnikov <dplotnikov@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: "Dr . David Alan Gilbert" <dgilbert@redhat.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>
Cc: Martin Cracauer <cracauer@cons.org>
Cc: Marty McFadden <mcfadden8@llnl.gov>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Maya Gokhale <gokhale2@llnl.gov>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@openvz.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200220155353.8676-5-peterx@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

https://jira.sw.ru/browse/PSBM-102938
(cherry picked from commit 39678191cd8988c811813baf4c97b43bf46094e4)
Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
---
 arch/x86/mm/fault.c | 28 +++++++++++++---------------
 1 file changed, 13 insertions(+), 15 deletions(-)

Patch hide | download patch | download mbox

diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/fault.c b/arch/x86/mm/fault.c
index cdafd5fa6d0a..8e71ebad64a1 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/fault.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/fault.c
@@ -1405,27 +1405,25 @@  __do_page_fault(struct pt_regs *regs, unsigned long error_code,
 	fault = handle_mm_fault(vma, address, flags);
 	major |= fault & VM_FAULT_MAJOR;
 
+	/* Quick path to respond to signals */
+	if (fault_signal_pending(fault, regs)) {
+		if (!user_mode(regs))
+			no_context(regs, error_code, address, SIGBUS,
+				   BUS_ADRERR);
+		return;
+	}
+
 	/*
 	 * If we need to retry the mmap_sem has already been released,
 	 * and if there is a fatal signal pending there is no guarantee
 	 * that we made any progress. Handle this case first.
 	 */
-	if (unlikely(fault & VM_FAULT_RETRY)) {
+	if (unlikely((fault & VM_FAULT_RETRY) &&
+		     (flags & FAULT_FLAG_ALLOW_RETRY))) {
 		/* Retry at most once */
-		if (flags & FAULT_FLAG_ALLOW_RETRY) {
-			flags &= ~FAULT_FLAG_ALLOW_RETRY;
-			flags |= FAULT_FLAG_TRIED;
-			if (!fatal_signal_pending(tsk))
-				goto retry;
-		}
-
-		/* User mode? Just return to handle the fatal exception */
-		if (flags & FAULT_FLAG_USER)
-			return;
-
-		/* Not returning to user mode? Handle exceptions or die: */
-		no_context(regs, error_code, address, SIGBUS, BUS_ADRERR);
-		return;
+		flags &= ~FAULT_FLAG_ALLOW_RETRY;
+		flags |= FAULT_FLAG_TRIED;
+		goto retry;
 	}
 
 	up_read(&mm->mmap_sem);