[vz8,37/42] userfaultfd: wp: don't wake up when doing write protect

Submitted by Andrey Ryabinin on April 16, 2020, 10:36 a.m.

Details

Message ID 20200416103620.29930-37-aryabinin@virtuozzo.com
State New
Series "Series without cover letter"
Headers show

Commit Message

Andrey Ryabinin April 16, 2020, 10:36 a.m.
From: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>

It does not make sense to try to wake up any waiting thread when we're
write-protecting a memory region.  Only wake up when resolving a write
protected page fault.

Signed-off-by: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Reviewed-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Bobby Powers <bobbypowers@gmail.com>
Cc: Brian Geffon <bgeffon@google.com>
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: Denis Plotnikov <dplotnikov@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: "Dr . David Alan Gilbert" <dgilbert@redhat.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>
Cc: Martin Cracauer <cracauer@cons.org>
Cc: Marty McFadden <mcfadden8@llnl.gov>
Cc: Maya Gokhale <gokhale2@llnl.gov>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@openvz.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Shaohua Li <shli@fb.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200220163112.11409-16-peterx@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

https://jira.sw.ru/browse/PSBM-102938
(cherry picked from commit 23080e2783ba45208795faad124eab0e0bdae85a)
Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
---
 fs/userfaultfd.c | 13 ++++++++-----
 1 file changed, 8 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)

Patch hide | download patch | download mbox

diff --git a/fs/userfaultfd.c b/fs/userfaultfd.c
index 484cd090f2f6..8d8dadc9a8b1 100644
--- a/fs/userfaultfd.c
+++ b/fs/userfaultfd.c
@@ -1803,6 +1803,7 @@  static int userfaultfd_writeprotect(struct userfaultfd_ctx *ctx,
 	struct uffdio_writeprotect uffdio_wp;
 	struct uffdio_writeprotect __user *user_uffdio_wp;
 	struct userfaultfd_wake_range range;
+	bool mode_wp, mode_dontwake;
 
 	if (READ_ONCE(ctx->mmap_changing))
 		return -EAGAIN;
@@ -1821,18 +1822,20 @@  static int userfaultfd_writeprotect(struct userfaultfd_ctx *ctx,
 	if (uffdio_wp.mode & ~(UFFDIO_WRITEPROTECT_MODE_DONTWAKE |
 			       UFFDIO_WRITEPROTECT_MODE_WP))
 		return -EINVAL;
-	if ((uffdio_wp.mode & UFFDIO_WRITEPROTECT_MODE_WP) &&
-	     (uffdio_wp.mode & UFFDIO_WRITEPROTECT_MODE_DONTWAKE))
+
+	mode_wp = uffdio_wp.mode & UFFDIO_WRITEPROTECT_MODE_WP;
+	mode_dontwake = uffdio_wp.mode & UFFDIO_WRITEPROTECT_MODE_DONTWAKE;
+
+	if (mode_wp && mode_dontwake)
 		return -EINVAL;
 
 	ret = mwriteprotect_range(ctx->mm, uffdio_wp.range.start,
-				  uffdio_wp.range.len, uffdio_wp.mode &
-				  UFFDIO_WRITEPROTECT_MODE_WP,
+				  uffdio_wp.range.len, mode_wp,
 				  &ctx->mmap_changing);
 	if (ret)
 		return ret;
 
-	if (!(uffdio_wp.mode & UFFDIO_WRITEPROTECT_MODE_DONTWAKE)) {
+	if (!mode_wp && !mode_dontwake) {
 		range.start = uffdio_wp.range.start;
 		range.len = uffdio_wp.range.len;
 		wake_userfault(ctx, &range);