[vz8,30/42] userfaultfd: wp: drop _PAGE_UFFD_WP properly when fork

Submitted by Andrey Ryabinin on April 16, 2020, 10:36 a.m.

Details

Message ID 20200416103620.29930-30-aryabinin@virtuozzo.com
State New
Series "Series without cover letter"
Headers show

Commit Message

Andrey Ryabinin April 16, 2020, 10:36 a.m.
From: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>

UFFD_EVENT_FORK support for uffd-wp should be already there, except that
we should clean the uffd-wp bit if uffd fork event is not enabled.  Detect
that to avoid _PAGE_UFFD_WP being set even if the VMA is not being tracked
by VM_UFFD_WP.  Do this for both small PTEs and huge PMDs.

Signed-off-by: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Reviewed-by: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Bobby Powers <bobbypowers@gmail.com>
Cc: Brian Geffon <bgeffon@google.com>
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: Denis Plotnikov <dplotnikov@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: "Dr . David Alan Gilbert" <dgilbert@redhat.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>
Cc: Martin Cracauer <cracauer@cons.org>
Cc: Marty McFadden <mcfadden8@llnl.gov>
Cc: Maya Gokhale <gokhale2@llnl.gov>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@openvz.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Shaohua Li <shli@fb.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200220163112.11409-9-peterx@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

https://jira.sw.ru/browse/PSBM-102938
(cherry picked from commit b569a1760782f3da03ff718d61f74163dea599ff)
Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
---
 mm/huge_memory.c | 8 ++++++++
 mm/memory.c      | 8 ++++++++
 2 files changed, 16 insertions(+)

Patch hide | download patch | download mbox

diff --git a/mm/huge_memory.c b/mm/huge_memory.c
index be580b411a6a..b26c2daf3547 100644
--- a/mm/huge_memory.c
+++ b/mm/huge_memory.c
@@ -921,6 +921,14 @@  int copy_huge_pmd(struct mm_struct *dst_mm, struct mm_struct *src_mm,
 	ret = -EAGAIN;
 	pmd = *src_pmd;
 
+	/*
+	 * Make sure the _PAGE_UFFD_WP bit is cleared if the new VMA
+	 * does not have the VM_UFFD_WP, which means that the uffd
+	 * fork event is not enabled.
+	 */
+	if (!(vma->vm_flags & VM_UFFD_WP))
+		pmd = pmd_clear_uffd_wp(pmd);
+
 #ifdef CONFIG_ARCH_ENABLE_THP_MIGRATION
 	if (unlikely(is_swap_pmd(pmd))) {
 		swp_entry_t entry = pmd_to_swp_entry(pmd);
diff --git a/mm/memory.c b/mm/memory.c
index dc267ae5b293..7e0189d729e3 100644
--- a/mm/memory.c
+++ b/mm/memory.c
@@ -1037,6 +1037,14 @@  copy_one_pte(struct mm_struct *dst_mm, struct mm_struct *src_mm,
 		pte = pte_mkclean(pte);
 	pte = pte_mkold(pte);
 
+	/*
+	 * Make sure the _PAGE_UFFD_WP bit is cleared if the new VMA
+	 * does not have the VM_UFFD_WP, which means that the uffd
+	 * fork event is not enabled.
+	 */
+	if (!(vm_flags & VM_UFFD_WP))
+		pte = pte_clear_uffd_wp(pte);
+
 	page = vm_normal_page(vma, addr, pte);
 	if (page) {
 		get_page(page);