[vz8,28/42] mm: thp: fix flags for pmd migration when split

Submitted by Andrey Ryabinin on April 16, 2020, 10:36 a.m.

Details

Message ID 20200416103620.29930-28-aryabinin@virtuozzo.com
State New
Series "Series without cover letter"
Headers show

Commit Message

Andrey Ryabinin April 16, 2020, 10:36 a.m.
From: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>

When splitting a huge migrating PMD, we'll transfer all the existing PMD
bits and apply them again onto the small PTEs.  However we are fetching
the bits unconditionally via pmd_soft_dirty(), pmd_write() or
pmd_yound() while actually they don't make sense at all when it's a
migration entry.  Fix them up.  Since at it, drop the ifdef together as
not needed.

Note that if my understanding is correct about the problem then if
without the patch there is chance to lose some of the dirty bits in the
migrating pmd pages (on x86_64 we're fetching bit 11 which is part of
swap offset instead of bit 2) and it could potentially corrupt the
memory of an userspace program which depends on the dirty bit.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181213051510.20306-1-peterx@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@yandex-team.ru>
Reviewed-by: William Kucharski <william.kucharski@oracle.com>
Acked-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@intel.com>
Cc: "Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Souptick Joarder <jrdr.linux@gmail.com>
Cc: Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@yandex-team.ru>
Cc: Zi Yan <zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>	[4.14+]
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

https://jira.sw.ru/browse/PSBM-102938
(cherry picked from commit 2e83ee1d8694a61d0d95a5b694f2e61e8dde8627)
Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
---
 mm/huge_memory.c | 20 +++++++++++---------
 1 file changed, 11 insertions(+), 9 deletions(-)

Patch hide | download patch | download mbox

diff --git a/mm/huge_memory.c b/mm/huge_memory.c
index 77a827a55703..7b652b3a70e6 100644
--- a/mm/huge_memory.c
+++ b/mm/huge_memory.c
@@ -2124,23 +2124,25 @@  static void __split_huge_pmd_locked(struct vm_area_struct *vma, pmd_t *pmd,
 	 */
 	old_pmd = pmdp_invalidate(vma, haddr, pmd);
 
-#ifdef CONFIG_ARCH_ENABLE_THP_MIGRATION
 	pmd_migration = is_pmd_migration_entry(old_pmd);
-	if (pmd_migration) {
+	if (unlikely(pmd_migration)) {
 		swp_entry_t entry;
 
 		entry = pmd_to_swp_entry(old_pmd);
 		page = pfn_to_page(swp_offset(entry));
-	} else
-#endif
+		write = is_write_migration_entry(entry);
+		young = false;
+		soft_dirty = pmd_swp_soft_dirty(old_pmd);
+	} else {
 		page = pmd_page(old_pmd);
+		if (pmd_dirty(old_pmd))
+			SetPageDirty(page);
+		write = pmd_write(old_pmd);
+		young = pmd_young(old_pmd);
+		soft_dirty = pmd_soft_dirty(old_pmd);
+	}
 	VM_BUG_ON_PAGE(!page_count(page), page);
 	page_ref_add(page, HPAGE_PMD_NR - 1);
-	if (pmd_dirty(old_pmd))
-		SetPageDirty(page);
-	write = pmd_write(old_pmd);
-	young = pmd_young(old_pmd);
-	soft_dirty = pmd_soft_dirty(old_pmd);
 
 	/*
 	 * Withdraw the table only after we mark the pmd entry invalid.