[RHEL8,COMMIT] mm/gup: fix __get_user_pages() on fault retry of hugetlb

Submitted by Konstantin Khorenko on April 20, 2020, 7:34 a.m.

Details

Message ID 202004200734.03K7Y8vE015564@finist_co8.work.ct
State New
Series "Series without cover letter"
Headers show

Commit Message

Konstantin Khorenko April 20, 2020, 7:34 a.m.
The commit is pushed to "branch-rh8-4.18.0-80.1.2.vz8.3.x-ovz" and will appear at https://src.openvz.org/scm/ovz/vzkernel.git
after rh8-4.18.0-80.1.2.vz8.3.6
------>
commit 2a2c0236eabd1c7483e50b1c04828b94fc15b645
Author: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
Date:   Mon Apr 20 10:34:07 2020 +0300

    mm/gup: fix __get_user_pages() on fault retry of hugetlb
    
    When follow_hugetlb_page() returns with *locked==0, it means we've got a
    VM_FAULT_RETRY within the fauling process and we've released the mmap_sem.
    When that happens, we should stop and bail out.
    
    Signed-off-by: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
    Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Tested-by: Brian Geffon <bgeffon@google.com>
    Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
    Cc: Bobby Powers <bobbypowers@gmail.com>
    Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
    Cc: Denis Plotnikov <dplotnikov@virtuozzo.com>
    Cc: "Dr . David Alan Gilbert" <dgilbert@redhat.com>
    Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
    Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
    Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
    Cc: "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>
    Cc: Martin Cracauer <cracauer@cons.org>
    Cc: Marty McFadden <mcfadden8@llnl.gov>
    Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
    Cc: Maya Gokhale <gokhale2@llnl.gov>
    Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
    Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
    Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Cc: Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@openvz.org>
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200220155353.8676-3-peterx@redhat.com
    Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    
    https://jira.sw.ru/browse/PSBM-102938
    (cherry picked from commit ad415db817964e96df824e8bb1a861527f8012b6)
    Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
---
 mm/gup.c | 10 ++++++++++
 1 file changed, 10 insertions(+)

Patch hide | download patch | download mbox

diff --git a/mm/gup.c b/mm/gup.c
index f609ac36aa9a..e06aa55b65b2 100644
--- a/mm/gup.c
+++ b/mm/gup.c
@@ -699,6 +699,15 @@  static long __get_user_pages(struct task_struct *tsk, struct mm_struct *mm,
 				i = follow_hugetlb_page(mm, vma, pages, vmas,
 						&start, &nr_pages, i,
 						gup_flags, locked);
+				if (locked && *locked == 0) {
+					/*
+					 * We've got a VM_FAULT_RETRY
+					 * and we've lost mmap_sem.
+					 * We must stop here.
+					 */
+					BUG_ON(gup_flags & FOLL_NOWAIT);
+					goto out;
+				}
 				continue;
 			}
 		}
@@ -755,6 +764,7 @@  static long __get_user_pages(struct task_struct *tsk, struct mm_struct *mm,
 		start += page_increm * PAGE_SIZE;
 		nr_pages -= page_increm;
 	} while (nr_pages);
+out:
 	return i;
 }