[RHEL8,COMMIT] userfaultfd: wp: declare _UFFDIO_WRITEPROTECT conditionally

Submitted by Konstantin Khorenko on April 20, 2020, 7:34 a.m.

Details

Message ID 202004200734.03K7Yo8o017168@finist_co8.work.ct
State New
Series "Series without cover letter"
Headers show

Commit Message

Konstantin Khorenko April 20, 2020, 7:34 a.m.
The commit is pushed to "branch-rh8-4.18.0-80.1.2.vz8.3.x-ovz" and will appear at https://src.openvz.org/scm/ovz/vzkernel.git
after rh8-4.18.0-80.1.2.vz8.3.6
------>
commit 3f5406cc12e1447cc773b43884874f3959e1ba09
Author: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
Date:   Mon Apr 20 10:34:50 2020 +0300

    userfaultfd: wp: declare _UFFDIO_WRITEPROTECT conditionally
    
    Only declare _UFFDIO_WRITEPROTECT if the user specified
    UFFDIO_REGISTER_MODE_WP and if all the checks passed.  Then when the user
    registers regions with shmem/hugetlbfs we won't expose the new ioctl to
    them.  Even with complete anonymous memory range, we'll only expose the
    new WP ioctl bit if the register mode has MODE_WP.
    
    Signed-off-by: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
    Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Reviewed-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
    Cc: Bobby Powers <bobbypowers@gmail.com>
    Cc: Brian Geffon <bgeffon@google.com>
    Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
    Cc: Denis Plotnikov <dplotnikov@virtuozzo.com>
    Cc: "Dr . David Alan Gilbert" <dgilbert@redhat.com>
    Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
    Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
    Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
    Cc: "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>
    Cc: Martin Cracauer <cracauer@cons.org>
    Cc: Marty McFadden <mcfadden8@llnl.gov>
    Cc: Maya Gokhale <gokhale2@llnl.gov>
    Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
    Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
    Cc: Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@openvz.org>
    Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
    Cc: Shaohua Li <shli@fb.com>
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200220163112.11409-18-peterx@redhat.com
    Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    
    https://jira.sw.ru/browse/PSBM-102938
    (cherry picked from commit 14819305e09fe4fda546f0dfa12134c8e5366616)
    Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
---
 fs/userfaultfd.c | 16 +++++++++++++---
 1 file changed, 13 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

Patch hide | download patch | download mbox

diff --git a/fs/userfaultfd.c b/fs/userfaultfd.c
index 8d8dadc9a8b1..8427143fd546 100644
--- a/fs/userfaultfd.c
+++ b/fs/userfaultfd.c
@@ -1486,14 +1486,24 @@  static int userfaultfd_register(struct userfaultfd_ctx *ctx,
 	up_write(&mm->mmap_sem);
 	mmput(mm);
 	if (!ret) {
+		__u64 ioctls_out;
+
+		ioctls_out = basic_ioctls ? UFFD_API_RANGE_IOCTLS_BASIC :
+		    UFFD_API_RANGE_IOCTLS;
+
+		/*
+		 * Declare the WP ioctl only if the WP mode is
+		 * specified and all checks passed with the range
+		 */
+		if (!(uffdio_register.mode & UFFDIO_REGISTER_MODE_WP))
+			ioctls_out &= ~((__u64)1 << _UFFDIO_WRITEPROTECT);
+
 		/*
 		 * Now that we scanned all vmas we can already tell
 		 * userland which ioctls methods are guaranteed to
 		 * succeed on this range.
 		 */
-		if (put_user(basic_ioctls ? UFFD_API_RANGE_IOCTLS_BASIC :
-			     UFFD_API_RANGE_IOCTLS,
-			     &user_uffdio_register->ioctls))
+		if (put_user(ioctls_out, &user_uffdio_register->ioctls))
 			ret = -EFAULT;
 	}
 out: