[RHEL8,COMMIT] userfaultfd: wp: UFFDIO_REGISTER_MODE_WP documentation update

Submitted by Konstantin Khorenko on April 20, 2020, 7:34 a.m.

Details

Message ID 202004200734.03K7YnxH017118@finist_co8.work.ct
State New
Series "Series without cover letter"
Headers show

Commit Message

Konstantin Khorenko April 20, 2020, 7:34 a.m.
The commit is pushed to "branch-rh8-4.18.0-80.1.2.vz8.3.x-ovz" and will appear at https://src.openvz.org/scm/ovz/vzkernel.git
after rh8-4.18.0-80.1.2.vz8.3.6
------>
commit 56147c2d7a64185ee9c77cd755a85f5b290248a9
Author: Martin Cracauer <cracauer@cons.org>
Date:   Mon Apr 20 10:34:49 2020 +0300

    userfaultfd: wp: UFFDIO_REGISTER_MODE_WP documentation update
    
    Add documentation about the write protection support.
    
    [peterx@redhat.com: rewrite in rst format; fixups here and there]
    Signed-off-by: Martin Cracauer <cracauer@cons.org>
    Signed-off-by: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
    Signed-off-by: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
    Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Reviewed-by: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
    Reviewed-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Cc: Bobby Powers <bobbypowers@gmail.com>
    Cc: Brian Geffon <bgeffon@google.com>
    Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
    Cc: Denis Plotnikov <dplotnikov@virtuozzo.com>
    Cc: "Dr . David Alan Gilbert" <dgilbert@redhat.com>
    Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
    Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
    Cc: "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>
    Cc: Marty McFadden <mcfadden8@llnl.gov>
    Cc: Maya Gokhale <gokhale2@llnl.gov>
    Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
    Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
    Cc: Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@openvz.org>
    Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
    Cc: Shaohua Li <shli@fb.com>
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200220163112.11409-17-peterx@redhat.com
    Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    
    https://jira.sw.ru/browse/PSBM-102938
    (cherry picked from commit 57e5d4f278b9522646b49a3a97ebf5f2b8f9d4cf)
    Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
---
 Documentation/admin-guide/mm/userfaultfd.rst | 51 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 51 insertions(+)

Patch hide | download patch | download mbox

diff --git a/Documentation/admin-guide/mm/userfaultfd.rst b/Documentation/admin-guide/mm/userfaultfd.rst
index 5048cf661a8a..c30176e67900 100644
--- a/Documentation/admin-guide/mm/userfaultfd.rst
+++ b/Documentation/admin-guide/mm/userfaultfd.rst
@@ -108,6 +108,57 @@  UFFDIO_COPY. They're atomic as in guaranteeing that nothing can see an
 half copied page since it'll keep userfaulting until the copy has
 finished.
 
+Notes:
+
+- If you requested UFFDIO_REGISTER_MODE_MISSING when registering then
+  you must provide some kind of page in your thread after reading from
+  the uffd.  You must provide either UFFDIO_COPY or UFFDIO_ZEROPAGE.
+  The normal behavior of the OS automatically providing a zero page on
+  an annonymous mmaping is not in place.
+
+- None of the page-delivering ioctls default to the range that you
+  registered with.  You must fill in all fields for the appropriate
+  ioctl struct including the range.
+
+- You get the address of the access that triggered the missing page
+  event out of a struct uffd_msg that you read in the thread from the
+  uffd.  You can supply as many pages as you want with UFFDIO_COPY or
+  UFFDIO_ZEROPAGE.  Keep in mind that unless you used DONTWAKE then
+  the first of any of those IOCTLs wakes up the faulting thread.
+
+- Be sure to test for all errors including (pollfd[0].revents &
+  POLLERR).  This can happen, e.g. when ranges supplied were
+  incorrect.
+
+Write Protect Notifications
+---------------------------
+
+This is equivalent to (but faster than) using mprotect and a SIGSEGV
+signal handler.
+
+Firstly you need to register a range with UFFDIO_REGISTER_MODE_WP.
+Instead of using mprotect(2) you use ioctl(uffd, UFFDIO_WRITEPROTECT,
+struct *uffdio_writeprotect) while mode = UFFDIO_WRITEPROTECT_MODE_WP
+in the struct passed in.  The range does not default to and does not
+have to be identical to the range you registered with.  You can write
+protect as many ranges as you like (inside the registered range).
+Then, in the thread reading from uffd the struct will have
+msg.arg.pagefault.flags & UFFD_PAGEFAULT_FLAG_WP set. Now you send
+ioctl(uffd, UFFDIO_WRITEPROTECT, struct *uffdio_writeprotect) again
+while pagefault.mode does not have UFFDIO_WRITEPROTECT_MODE_WP set.
+This wakes up the thread which will continue to run with writes. This
+allows you to do the bookkeeping about the write in the uffd reading
+thread before the ioctl.
+
+If you registered with both UFFDIO_REGISTER_MODE_MISSING and
+UFFDIO_REGISTER_MODE_WP then you need to think about the sequence in
+which you supply a page and undo write protect.  Note that there is a
+difference between writes into a WP area and into a !WP area.  The
+former will have UFFD_PAGEFAULT_FLAG_WP set, the latter
+UFFD_PAGEFAULT_FLAG_WRITE.  The latter did not fail on protection but
+you still need to supply a page when UFFDIO_REGISTER_MODE_MISSING was
+used.
+
 QEMU/KVM
 ========