[Devel,rh7,2/2] ms/vmscan: fix increasing nr_isolated incurred by putback unevictable pages

Submitted by Andrey Ryabinin on July 12, 2017, 2:55 p.m.

Details

Message ID 20170712145504.9234-2-aryabinin@virtuozzo.com
State New
Series "Series without cover letter"
Headers show

Commit Message

Andrey Ryabinin July 12, 2017, 2:55 p.m.
From: Jaewon Kim <jaewon31.kim@samsung.com>

commit c54839a722a02818677bcabe57e957f0ce4f841d upstream.

reclaim_clean_pages_from_list() assumes that shrink_page_list() returns
number of pages removed from the candidate list.  But shrink_page_list()
puts back mlocked pages without passing it to caller and without
counting as nr_reclaimed.  This increases nr_isolated.

To fix this, this patch changes shrink_page_list() to pass unevictable
pages back to caller.  Caller will take care those pages.

Minchan said:

It fixes two issues.

1. With unevictable page, cma_alloc will be successful.

Exactly speaking, cma_alloc of current kernel will fail due to
unevictable pages.

2. fix leaking of NR_ISOLATED counter of vmstat

With it, too_many_isolated works.  Otherwise, it could make hang until
the process get SIGKILL.

Signed-off-by: Jaewon Kim <jaewon31.kim@samsung.com>
Acked-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Acked-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
---
 mm/vmscan.c | 2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

Patch hide | download patch | download mbox

diff --git a/mm/vmscan.c b/mm/vmscan.c
index 1b4471ef42e..7b24537448b 100644
--- a/mm/vmscan.c
+++ b/mm/vmscan.c
@@ -1147,7 +1147,7 @@  cull_mlocked:
 		if (PageSwapCache(page))
 			try_to_free_swap(page);
 		unlock_page(page);
-		putback_lru_page(page);
+		list_add(&page->lru, &ret_pages);
 		continue;
 
 activate_locked: