[Devel,rh7,17/39] lib/stackdepot.c: use __GFP_NOWARN for stack allocations

Submitted by Andrey Ryabinin on Sept. 14, 2017, 4:51 p.m.

Details

Message ID 20170914165156.28876-17-aryabinin@virtuozzo.com
State New
Series "Series without cover letter"
Headers show

Commit Message

Andrey Ryabinin Sept. 14, 2017, 4:51 p.m.
From: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>

This (large, atomic) allocation attempt can fail.  We expect and handle
that, so avoid the scary warning.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20160720151905.GB19146@node.shutemov.name
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

https://jira.sw.ru/browse/PSBM-69081
(cherry picked from commit 87cc271d5e4320d705cfdf59f68d4d037b3511b2)
Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
---
 lib/stackdepot.c | 1 +
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+)

Patch hide | download patch | download mbox

diff --git a/lib/stackdepot.c b/lib/stackdepot.c
index 53ad6c0831ae..60f77f1d470a 100644
--- a/lib/stackdepot.c
+++ b/lib/stackdepot.c
@@ -242,6 +242,7 @@  depot_stack_handle_t depot_save_stack(struct stack_trace *trace,
 		 */
 		alloc_flags &= ~GFP_ZONEMASK;
 		alloc_flags &= (GFP_ATOMIC | GFP_KERNEL);
+		alloc_flags |= __GFP_NOWARN;
 		page = alloc_pages(alloc_flags, STACK_ALLOC_ORDER);
 		if (page)
 			prealloc = page_address(page);