[rh7,06/25] ms/mm, compaction: avoid isolating pinned pages

Submitted by Andrey Ryabinin on Jan. 24, 2018, 12:14 p.m.

Details

Message ID 20180124121503.26930-7-aryabinin@virtuozzo.com
State New
Series "compaction related stable backports."
Headers show

Commit Message

Andrey Ryabinin Jan. 24, 2018, 12:14 p.m.
From: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>

Page migration will fail for memory that is pinned in memory with, for
example, get_user_pages().  In this case, it is unnecessary to take
zone->lru_lock or isolating the page and passing it to page migration
which will ultimately fail.

This is a racy check, the page can still change from under us, but in
that case we'll just fail later when attempting to move the page.

This avoids very expensive memory compaction when faulting transparent
hugepages after pinning a lot of memory with a Mellanox driver.

On a 128GB machine and pinning ~120GB of memory, before this patch we
see the enormous disparity in the number of page migration failures
because of the pinning (from /proc/vmstat):

	compact_pages_moved 8450
	compact_pagemigrate_failed 15614415

0.05% of pages isolated are successfully migrated and explicitly
triggering memory compaction takes 102 seconds.  After the patch:

	compact_pages_moved 9197
	compact_pagemigrate_failed 7

99.9% of pages isolated are now successfully migrated in this
configuration and memory compaction takes less than one second.

Signed-off-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Acked-by: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Acked-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
(cherry picked from commit 119d6d59dcc0980dcd581fdadb6b2033b512a473)
Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
---
 mm/compaction.c | 9 +++++++++
 1 file changed, 9 insertions(+)

Patch hide | download patch | download mbox

diff --git a/mm/compaction.c b/mm/compaction.c
index bbb1f65b0041..981e6b601bfe 100644
--- a/mm/compaction.c
+++ b/mm/compaction.c
@@ -588,6 +588,15 @@  isolate_migratepages_range(struct zone *zone, struct compact_control *cc,
 			continue;
 		}
 
+		/*
+		 * Migration will fail if an anonymous page is pinned in memory,
+		 * so avoid taking lru_lock and isolating it unnecessarily in an
+		 * admittedly racy check.
+		 */
+		if (!page_mapping(page) &&
+		    page_count(page) > page_mapcount(page))
+			continue;
+
 		/* Check if it is ok to still hold the lock */
 		locked = compact_checklock_irqsave(&zone->lru_lock, &flags,
 								locked, cc);