[rh7,12/25] ms/mm, compaction: determine isolation mode only once

Submitted by Andrey Ryabinin on Jan. 24, 2018, 12:14 p.m.

Details

Message ID 20180124121503.26930-13-aryabinin@virtuozzo.com
State New
Series "compaction related stable backports."
Headers show

Commit Message

Andrey Ryabinin Jan. 24, 2018, 12:14 p.m.
From: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>

The conditions that control the isolation mode in
isolate_migratepages_range() do not change during the iteration, so
extract them out and only define the value once.

This actually does have an effect, gcc doesn't optimize it itself because
of cc->sync.

Signed-off-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
(cherry picked from commit da1c67a76f7cf2b3404823d24f9f10fa91aa5dc5)
Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
---
 mm/compaction.c | 9 ++-------
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)

Patch hide | download patch | download mbox

diff --git a/mm/compaction.c b/mm/compaction.c
index d833777ddaee..9f2abe03d1aa 100644
--- a/mm/compaction.c
+++ b/mm/compaction.c
@@ -467,12 +467,13 @@  isolate_migratepages_range(struct zone *zone, struct compact_control *cc,
 	unsigned long last_pageblock_nr = 0, pageblock_nr;
 	unsigned long nr_scanned = 0, nr_isolated = 0;
 	struct list_head *migratelist = &cc->migratepages;
-	isolate_mode_t mode = 0;
 	struct lruvec *lruvec;
 	unsigned long flags;
 	bool locked = false;
 	struct page *page = NULL, *valid_page = NULL;
 	bool skipped_async_unsuitable = false;
+	const isolate_mode_t mode = (!cc->sync ? ISOLATE_ASYNC_MIGRATE : 0) |
+				    (unevictable ? ISOLATE_UNEVICTABLE : 0);
 
 	/*
 	 * Ensure that there are not too many pages isolated from the LRU
@@ -612,12 +613,6 @@  isolate_migratepages_range(struct zone *zone, struct compact_control *cc,
 			continue;
 		}
 
-		if (!cc->sync)
-			mode |= ISOLATE_ASYNC_MIGRATE;
-
-		if (unevictable)
-			mode |= ISOLATE_UNEVICTABLE;
-
 		lruvec = mem_cgroup_page_lruvec(page, zone);
 
 		/* Try isolate the page */